Prague Castle Private 4 Hour Driven Tour
The entire Prague Castle area is pedestrian only.
The Prague Castle, the crown on the city of Prague, is situated high above the historical city. The Cathedral of st. Vitus, is located in the middle of the castle area and some consider the most important cultural monument of Prague.
Tickets to attractions are not included in the tour price.
This is a four hour walking tour of the entire Prague Castle area. The guide will explain to you the history of this Czech most significant cultural monument. After seeing all of the interiors that are open to the
public, the Cathedral of st. Vitus, the Old Royal Palace, the Basilica of
St. George , the Golden Lane, you will be amazed by its thousand years old history. Tickets to attractions are not included in the tour price.
The Prague Castle was most likely founded in around 880 by Prince Borivoj of the Premyslid Dynasty. According to the Guinness Book of World Records, the Prague Castle is the largest coherent castle complex in the world, with an area of almost 70,000 m². A UNESCO World Heritage site, it consists of a large-scale composition of palaces and ecclesiastical buildings of various architectural styles, from Roman-style buildings from the 10th century through Gothic modifications in the 14th century. The famous Slovenian architect Josip Plečnik was responsible for extensive renovations in the time of the First Republic (1918-1938). Since the Velvet Revolution, the Prague Castle has undergone significant and ongoing repairs and reconstructions.
What you can see there:
St. Vitus Cathedral is the largest and the most important temple in Prague. Apart from religious services the coronations of Czech kings and queens also took place in here. The cathedral is a place of interment of remains of provincial patron saints, sovereigns, noblemen and archbishops.
The Old Royal Palace grew and gradually gained its present appearance from the time of its founding in the late 9th century. The original wooden building with a stone foundation wall was converted into a stone Romanesque palace in the early 12th century. Remainders of it have been preserved in the underground to the present.
St. George’s Basilica originated as the second church at Prague Castle. Only the foundations of the building, founded about 920 by Prince Vratislav I have been preserved. When the convent for Benedictine nuns was founded in 973 the church was enlarged and reconstructed.
The Golden Lane originated after the construction of the northern wall of the Castle. The area of the northern bailey was used for the building of modest dwellings, which are now the last remainder of the small-scale architecture of Prague Castle. They were inhabited by the castle servants, perhaps goldsmiths (the name „Golden Lane“ is documented from the 16th century] and the castle marksmen. The tiny houses were occupied until World War II, but already during the period of the First Republic care was taken to ensure that the picturesque character of the lane was not changed in the course of modifications. From 1916 to 1917 house No. 22 was inhabited by the writer Franz Kafka.
And other sights.