Prague Jewish Quarter Area 4 Hour Driven Tour
This tour is a walking four hour tour. Take the opportunity to
join our experienced guide who will show you the Prague Jewish sights, the Jewish museums-synagogues, the Old New Synagogue, the Old Jewish Cemetery with thousands of tombstones from the medieval ages and if you want you can extend the tour and visit also the New Jewish Cemetery with the grave of the famous writer Franz Kafka. Tickets to attractions are not included in the tour price. The Prague Jewish museum celebrated the 100 years anniversary of its existence in the year 2006.
Tickets to attractions are not included.
What is possible to see with our guide:
The Maisel synagogue was erected in 1592 on the basis of a privilege granted by Emperor Rudolf II. Its founder was Mordechai Maisel, the Mayor of the Prague Jewish Town. Built by Judah Tzoref de Herz and Josef Wahl, it was originally a Renaissance temple with three naves, which was unusual for its day. The synagogue burnt down in the ghetto fire of 1689 and was rebuilt several times. It acquired its current Neo-Gothic form by Prof. A Grotte in 1893-1905. There is the exhibition „Jews in the Bohemian Lands, 10th-18th Century“.
The Spanish Synagogue, where is the second part of the permanent exhibition History of the Jews in Bohemia and Moravia – from Emancipation to the Present follows on from the exhibition in the Maisel Synagogue Upper-floor prayer hall – Synagogue Silver from Bohemia and Moravia. On the ground floor, visitors can become acquainted with the history of the Jews from the late 18th to the early 20th centuries, when the Czech lands formed part of the Habsburg Empire. The gradual broadening of Jewish freedoms from the reforms of Joseph II to the proclamation of full political emancipation in 1867 are illustrated primarily through archive documents and small printed books of the day. The part of the exhibition that is located in the west gallery deals with the Jews in the Czechoslovak Republic founded in 1918 that existed untl 1938. The connected part of the exhibition in the north gallery is dedicated to the Holocaust of Bohemian and Moravian Jews in the years 1939-1945. The Spanish Synagogue was built in 1868 on the site of the oldest Prague Jewish house of prayer. It was designed in a Moorish style by the architect Ullmann. The remarkable interior decoration features a low stucco arabesque of stylized Islamic motifs which are also applied to the walls, doors and gallery balustrades.
The Pinkas Synagogue is the Memorial to the Jewish Victims of the Holocaust from Bohemia and Moravia, there is also the exhibition of the
Children´s Drawings from Terezín 1942-1944. The present building is the work of the Horowitz family from 1535. After the Second World War, the synagogue was turned into a Memorial to the Jews of Bohemia and Moravia murdered by the Nazis. On its walls are inscribed the names of the Jewish victims, their personal data, and the names of the communities to which they belonged, there are 77,297 names of the Jewish victims of Bohemia and Moravia were rewritten on its walls.
The Old Jewish Cemetery was established in the first half of the 15th century. Along with the Old-New Synagogue, it is one of the most important hictoric sites in Prague´s Jewish Town. The oldest tombstone, which marks the grave of the poet and scholar Avigdor Karo, dates from the year 1439. Burials took place in the cemetery until 1787. Today it contains some 12,000 tombstones, al though the number of persons buried here is much greater. The cemetery was enlarged a number of times in the past. In spite of this the area did not suffice and earth was brought in to add further layers. It is assumed that the cemetery contains several burial layers placed on top of each other. The picturesque goups of tombstones from various periods emerged through the raising of older stones to the upper layers.
The Klausen Synagogue, where is the permanent exhibiton Jewish Customs and Traditions, which is housed in the main nave of the synagogue, highlights the significance of the synagogue and of specific Jewish festivals. The gallery of the Klausen Synagogue contains exhibits associated with the everyday life of the Jewish family and customs connected with birth, circumcision, bar mitzvah, wedding, divorce and the Jewish household.
The main nave of the Klausen Synagogue houses the first part of the exhibition, Jewish Customs and Traditions, which deals with weekday services, the Sabbath and festivals.
The Ceremonial Hall, on the ground and upper floors of the Hall is housed the part section of the permanent exhibition, Jewish Customs and Traditions. The Ceremonial Hall of the Burial Society houses the concluding section of part two of the exhibition “The Course of Life” with the main theme is that of illness and death.
The Old-New Synagogue was built in early Gothic style around the middle of the 13th century. It was originally called the “New” or “Large” Synagogue, as opposed to the older house of prayer which did not survive. It was not until the 16th century, when other synagogues were built in Prague, that it became known as the “Old-New” Synagogue. The Old-New Synagogue, which is not part of the Jewish Museum, is one of the Prague synagogues, in which divine services are held.